I’ll Never Quit Writing

I love The Write Practice. For those who don’t know, it’s a website that offers writers writing prompts to practice their craft and develop their skills for fifteen minutes. I’ve subscribed to The Write Practice after discovering this awesome resource about two years ago. Initially, I actively engaged in these daily exercises, but my participation waned when I became more focused upon working on other literary endeavors and/or journaling. Every now and then, I’ll keep my eyes and open for exercises that pique my curiosity like the one I saw last week called “Why You Should Keep Writing When You Want to Quit.”

The article written by Ruthanne Reid discusses the need for writers to be stubborn and ornery when it comes to their writing, especially when we don’t feel like it. I’ve had that feeling more times than I can remember, and there were some days when I wasn’t in the mood to write and chose not to do so. Fortunately, I’ve had more days when I was in a funk but I wrote anyway, transforming my depressed mindset into an optimistic one. Reid’s article engages the writer to participate in a fifteen minute prompt to “claim your orneriness – vow it, promise to be stubborn no matter what.” The following is an excerpt from my personal journal to address the prompt from The Write Practice:

“I don’t have the answers, not yet, but I do know this is certain; loving, running, and writing have one thing in common. The one who wins at any one of those is the one who does it on the days he doesn’t feel like doing it. The one who does it when it’s hard. The one who sweats through the difficult times and endures the pain: Those are the people who succeed.”

If I plan to become ornery with my writing, then I need to adopt the above EJD quote as my mantra. That’s the same quote I told my former creative writing students who attended my Write Here! Write Now! class and/or workshops. I don’t want to waste another moment procrastinating when I should be writing. I don’t want to waste my creativity and time making up excuses as to why I can’t write when I can apply myself to breathe life into something new from a haiku to a journal entry to a blog post idea. I don’t think I can live with myself if I quit writing. Every time I thought doing so in the past, something occurred that brought me back to writing again. Besides, there’s no way someone as talented as I am should even entertain that thought. If I did, I’d be another person who had the potential to be an outstanding writer. I hate that word potential. Just thinking about that adjective/noun makes me feel nauseous. That’s not how I want to be remembered. I AM A WRITER! I AM A WRITER! I AM A WRITER! I’m saying it loud and proud, channeling the late James Brown (and if I could sing it, I’d do that, too!). I may struggle to come up with new ideas, but the ideas will come and I’LL NEVER QUIT WRITING! I may not be in the mood to be creative after a long day at work, but it’s okay to take a break to clear my thoughts and I’LL NEVER QUIT WRITING! I may not be progressing in my literary endeavors like I desired, but I’m making progress and I’LL NEVER QUIT WRITING!

Bill

 

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

