An Open Letter to Faith about My Writing

Dear Faith:

How are you doing, my friend? It feels like it’s been forever since we’ve last communicated with each other. I’m happy to be able to do so, and that the love is still there. I should’ve been in touch sooner, but better late than never. I want to take this moment to say thank you for always being that optimistic presence inside my soul when I have doubts about my talents as a writer. If it wasn’t for you, my friend, I would’ve quit writing many years ago. Hell, I don’t think I would’ve ever picked up a pencil to jot down my thoughts. Fortunately, that wasn’t the case. You were that motivating voice that whispered “Let’s write, Bill” in the evenings when I lacked the energy and focus after a productive work day. You were that gentle pat on my shoulder I needed for encouragement when I thought I was wasting time journaling instead of working on a new literary project. You were the inspirational cheerleader who told me to transform every self-imposed, destructive thought that crossed my mind to harsh criticism from others envious of my creativity into something positive that brought me joy with every word I wrote.

New York Times bestselling author and motivational speaker John C. Maxwell once said “People say there are two great days in a person’s life: the day you are born and the day you discover why.” I know I was born to be a writer. That confirmation occurred for me back in 1999 when I questioned and received a spiritual response about my creativity after a phone conversation with one of my best friends who informed me that two of my poems would be published in a national magazine. I should’ve known better to have confidence in myself and also in you, Faith. Over the years, your negative relative fear has appeared inside my thoughts and emotions, causing me to doubt and reject you. Almost 15 months ago, I composed a letter to that destructive bastard, calling him out on his shit. It’s impossible for you both to coexist, but fear is so damn resilient at times. There’s no need for me to dwell upon the negative or to give him more power and recognition than he deserves. I’m moving forward to accentuate the positive regarding my writing and all my literary endeavors.

Well, Faith, I’m feeling rejuvenated and ready to start tapping away on my laptop’s keyboard. Once again, your optimistic presence is flowing within my soul. I can hear your whispers telling me it’s time for us to meditate and get busy translating these ideas into words to be read and shared. We got this, my friend! Yes indeed!

 Love,

 Bill Holmes

 

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

