I WILL NOT BE DENIED!

An excerpt from Octavia Butler’s personal journal written back in 1988 was published online last week describing her aspirations to become a bestselling author (see Kiara Collins’s “Octavia Butler’s Personal Journal Shows The Author Literally Wrote Her Life Into Existence”). This picture created an inspirational buzz among myself and some of my friends as some of us shared a photo of a page from Butler’s handwritten journal affirming her desires. My dear friend B. Sharise Moore challenged her writer friends on a Facebook post to take a moment during the weekend of January 29 – 31 and to follow suit and write down our goals. I responded to her, jotting down the words “Challenge accepted!”

I’ve always been a firm believer in the power of positive thinking. In the past, I’ve written journal entries, affirmations, and personal letters to myself in a similar vein to inspire me to pursue my creative endeavors. Some I’ve published online in the past including “The 90 Day Letter” and “An Open Letter to Fear about My Writing.” I spent some time yesterday and early this morning journaling to accomplish my friend’s challenge, feeling uncertain if I would actually publicly share it. My journal entries are personal, representing my thoughts, feelings, ideas, and/or experiences. However, I need to be more accountable for making progress with my literary endeavors. Thank you to both Octavia and Sharise for inspiring me to do what’s necessary to get back into the literary game as a future bestselling author.

1 February 2016

I shall and will be a bestselling author again! I became a bestselling author back in 2007 when my first novel One Love made the ESSENCE Bestsellers List. That has been my greatest literary achievement to date. Fast forward, nine years later, I haven’t done much with my literary endeavors due to life changing circumstances and experiences (i.e., depression, bad career decisions, graduate school) with the exception of designing and facilitating my creative writing workshop Write Here! Write Now! I have assisted and guided others in pursuing their artistic passion but now it’s my time to help myself.

Last year, Terry McMillan challenged me to re-embrace my creativity when I met her in March at Bernice L. McFadden’s book signing for the re-release of Bernice’s novel Loving Donovan. Terry autographed copies of her novels Waiting to Exhale and Who Asked You?, writing the following messages: “Bill, write harder!” and “Why not go further?” DAMN RIGHT!

In eight days, One Love is scheduled to be re-released. This will be the resurgence of my literary career as an author. No more placing my aspirations on hold anymore! My name is Bill Holmes. I’m a writer, a poet, and an author. I’m an ESSENCE Bestselling Author. I’m proud of my literary achievements to date but the world has yet to read and to experience my best work. I KNOW THAT’S RIGHT! My future literary works will achieve bestsellers statuses. I’ve declared myself to be a future New York Times Bestselling Author and I WILL BE! No more excuses nor living on past accomplishments! I will not rest until this goal is accomplished. To quote Octavia Butler, “I will find the way to do this. So be it! See to it! Well, to quote myself, “I WILL NOT BE DENIED!!!!”

 Bill Holmes

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

