One Word, One Sentence, One Paragraph at a Time

I saw the movie Creed several weeks ago for the third time since being first released during the Thanksgiving 2015 holiday weekend. I wound up treating myself to an Artist Date a la Julia Cameron’s The Artist Way one Saturday afternoon. Ironically, it happened the day before Sylvester Stallone won a Golden Globe for portraying his beloved and iconic character Rocky Balboa who appears in the film. Creed has almost doubled its initial $35 million budget, earning approximately $108 million as of the January 22 – 24 weekend. That’s an awesome feat for a movie released and sandwiched between two mega-budget blockbuster films at the time: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 and Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

I wasn’t surprised that Creed was ignored by Hollywood for nominations in the Best Picture category for their Academy Awards. In my opinion, both Michael B. Jordan and Ryan Coogler are deserving of recognition for Best Actor and Best Director nominations respectively. Congratulations goes out to Sylvester Stallone who was nominated for Best Supporting Actor. If you’re looking for an excellent article to read about this cinematic injustice, please check out Aisha Harris’s “Why Creed’s Best Picture Snub Matters.”

Creed was the best movie I saw in 2015. Ryan Coogler put his foot into the filmmaking process when he created an entertaining and dramatic film that made me say, “Damn, I wish I wrote and directed that one!” I felt inspired as a writer every time I saw Creed, watching the characters experience personal development despite the struggles they encountered in their lives. Struggle is an important theme throughout the movie, something that every living human being has gone through at some point in his or her life. I could relate to the main protagonist Adonis “Hollywood” Johnson’s attempt to pursue his passion to become a professional boxer and forge his own identity from the shadow of his deceased father Apollo Creed’s legacy.

Any goal that a person wants to accomplish will encounter struggle to complete that feat. It may not be easy to transform yourself into the person you desire to be but it’s not impossible. This point was very evident during the scene where Rocky was training Adonis, giving him the advice of taking things one step, one punch, one round at a time. This simple and effective statement is poignant and can be applied to any occupation, especially for writers.

Do I have moments when I struggle with my creativity? Yes. Will everything I write flow and be well-written? No. Have I ever been in an excited mood to write and when I actually do, I stare at a blank Microsoft Word page feeling intimidated by the task at hand? Absolutely. Despite the struggles, the fears, the self-doubts, and the challenges, I press forward and continue to write anyway. Every time I sit down to type away on my laptop’s keyboard, I attempt to better myself than I was the last time I spent honing my skills.

I’m a writer, not a boxer. Modifying and applying Rocky Balboa’s suggestion for my creative journey, I can only take things one word, one sentence, one paragraph at a time. That’s the best advice I can give myself and anyone else who wants to become the best writer that he or she desires. It’s a simple creative exercise that anyone can do, including me.

Describe the way you feel about being a writer using one word. Using that same word, write one sentence describing how you feel about being a writer. Using that same sentence, write one paragraph describing how you feel about being a writer.

One word: Optimistic

One sentence: I’m optimistic about everything I will accomplish as a writer in 2016.

One paragraph: I’m optimistic about everything I will accomplish as a writer in 2016. I’m dedicating myself to become the best writer that Bill Holmes can be. I’m working on my craft every day whether I’m writing in my journal, networking with other writers, reading and studying other authors’ works, or attending literary seminars. Writing is and will always be my passion. I will keep striving and making sacrifices until I accomplish my lifetime goal as a writer: becoming a New York Times Bestselling Author of a book that will have a profound and positive impact upon my readers’ lives.

Not bad for a simple creative exercise to develop self-confidence and identify my long–term goal. Now, it’s your turn for my fellow writers. Complete the following assignment above writing one word, one sentence, and one paragraph to describe how you feel about being a writer. I’m looking forward to reading your responses.

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

 

 

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Word, One Sentence, One Paragraph at a Time

  1. K. Lowery Moore says:

    Thanks, Bill! I will take this challenge and do the exercise this weekend!

Leave a Reply

