Write Here! Write Now! Returns!

“I have a goal to start teaching a creative writing class this year. I haven’t done much planning because I’ve been busy working on promoting and selling One Love at book signings. If I really want to be blessed, then I need to do everything possible to be a blessing to someone else. For the past ten years, God has blessed me through my creativity and allowed me to accomplish things I would have never thought possible a decade ago. I feel there’s something missing in my life, and I can’t continue writing without doing something positive for others.”

– Bill Holmes, In the End

I’ll be facilitating my creative writing workshop Write Here! Write Now! in less than a week at Temple University. Saturday, May 23, 2015. That date has been circled on my calendar since Sunday, February 1, 2015, the day it was officially announced that I’ll be one of many presenters participating in the 31st Annual Celebration of Black Writing. The location will be on Temple’s campus in Philadelphia, PA at Ritter Hall and Annex, Room 104. The time will be 2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. Am I nervous? No. Am I excited? Yes! I’m too enthusiastic and hyped about presenting my workshop this coming weekend, which I haven’t done so since December 2012 when I volunteered as an instructor at Temple’s non-profit organization Pan-African Studies Continuing Education Program (PASCEP) for five years beginning in September 2007. I stopped teaching Write Here! Write Now! so I could start my three month practicum and six month internship and complete my master’s degree in mental health counseling and graduate on time from Walden University.

I hadn’t realized how much I missed Write Here! Write Now! My workshop met on Monday evenings from 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. It was the perfect mental, emotional, and spiritual release for myself and my students after the start of the work week. The in-class writing assignments and lessons I designed were fun yet challenging for my students and me. After all, I was a group participant, too. I never gave them an assignment that I didn’t or wouldn’t participate myself. I also stressed and encouraged every participant to think of themselves as writers regardless of their experience and/or accomplishments. We were all equals who came together to improve upon our writing skills to pursue our creative endeavors. Write Here! Write Now! wasn’t for everyone and some people dropped out of the course. However, the majority of my students stayed with the course putting up with 10 weeks of my shenanigans. Some recommended their friends to sign up for the workshop. I still keep in touch with some of my students via Facebook and love reading online about their current endeavors.

I thought about returning to PASCEP to facilitate my workshop again at Temple University. I didn’t want to be limited to teach according to the university’s schedule. I’ve had some individuals living in other states wishing they could participate in Write Here! Write Now! but were unable to do so since they didn’t live in the Philadelphia, PA metropolitan area. In addition, it wouldn’t be the same experience for me to attempt to duplicate the past. I’ve grown so much as a writer and a creative soul since I initially facilitated my workshop. The other day I reviewed some of the lesson plans I taught my students years ago to create my outline for the May 23rd workshop. The assignments felt antiquated although, in my opinion, they could still be effective to this day.

This is a new time and a new beginning for Write Here! Write Now! The May 23rd workshop will be my launching pad for the next journey of my literary endeavors as a creative writing instructor. I’ve been posting online announcements via Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, and Instagram about the workshop’s return to my loved ones and interested individuals for the past several weeks. I’m looking forward to meeting new faces along with seeing some old ones. If you’re definitely in the Philadelphia area and are curious to see what the hype is all about, please come out and support. They’ll be some cool surprises and plenty of fun at workshop! If you’re unable to attend but want to due to other plans or distance, don’t worry because I also got you! Please keep your eyes and ears open for future announcements! Trust me, you won’t be disappointed! Write Here! Write Now! is back with a MAJOR vengeance!

Event:             Write Here! Write Now!

Date:               Saturday, May 23, 2015

Time:               2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.

Place:               Temple University, Ritter Hall and Annex, Room 104

Take care and be blessed!

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write Here! Write Now! Returns!

  1. Elizabeth Borden Anderson says:

    I wish to attend. How do I register? What is the fee?

Leave a Reply

