My “Why” Statement

“I don’t know what your destiny will be, but one thing I know the only ones among you who will be really happy are those who will have sought and found how to serve.” – Albert Schweizer

I finished writing my first “Why” statement this morning. This was something that has been nagging at me for the past two weeks. I recently became business partners with my cousin Aisha in a new Internet, home-based business that focuses upon health and wellness through the Organo Gold organization. She asked me to write down my “Why” reason for joining the organization, which is a requirement for all new recruits. This was a temporary stumbling block because my mind drew a blank. Part of my reason for getting involved with Organo Gold was to make additional income, which had been my motivation for investing in other home-based businesses in the past. Unfortunately, I lost the desire to pursue my efforts when my interest waned. I didn’t want to repeat the same mistake again. I had to do something different that required more than me just writing my “Why” reason.

Every organization has or should have a mission statement for the reason they operate and conduct their business. I’m a firm believer that any individual who wants to be successful in any undertaking he or she pursues should have a mission statement or a similar concept. This doesn’t have to be anything elaborate or lengthy as long as it identifies 1) passion and 2) purpose. An idea came to me to create my “Why” statement not only to identify my reason for joining Organo Gold, but to accomplish all goals in every aspect of my life.

The thought of having financial support is an awesome incentive, but it doesn’t sustain my passion to engage in activities that make me happy. Money has never been a motivational factor for me to write, exercise, or counsel others, especially for self-fulfillment. I’m more inspired to use my talents to serve others that will enhance their personal development and to make a positive impact into their lives. Serving and giving have provided me with satisfaction in my past accomplishments, and if I truly motivate myself, I can discover a way to make this possible in my future endeavors. I’m confident that all things are possible through creativity, confidence, determination, effort, and faith.

I’m proud of my “Why” statement. It currently identifies my passion and purpose and encompasses my beliefs. My “Why” statement is something I need to read every day, much like the 90-day letter I wrote in a previous blog entry, as a motivational reminder to stay focused on my goal and to never become discouraged when encountering challenges. Absolutely!

My “Why” Statement

Every person has the ability to dream and the right to live their best lives. Some can be successful in conceiving any idea to do so. Very few possess the drive to take action and diligently work and persevere to transform ideas into innovations. I want to employ my knowledge and talents to inspire, assist, and serve others to lead healthy and productive lives and to pursue and accomplish their goals.

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

