The Company I Keep

I’m breathing a major sigh of relief now that I finally signed, sealed, and stamped all the Mother’s Day cards to be mailed today for the special women in my life. The people who personally know me are aware that I send my loved ones greeting cards throughout the year to acknowledge their birthdays. I also mail greeting cards on special milestones in their lives like holidays and graduations, and for those who are parents, cards for Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. This is something I’ve done for years and I don’t mind doing, just my way to acknowledge my appreciation and gratitude for them being a part of my life. I wouldn’t be the man I am today without their presence in my life.

Sometimes I have to remind myself how blessed I am to have a great support system consisting of caring, encouraging, and positive-thinking individuals who are concerned about my well-being. This becomes more apparent when I’m facing challenging circumstances that brings unwanted stress. In the past, I would refuse to acknowledge my problems, hoping they would someday disappear, but that wasn’t the case. To make matters worse, I felt alone and began isolating, never sharing my thoughts and feelings when all I had to do was reach out to someone who was within a phone call, email, or text message away. Just thinking about some of those difficult experiences, which led towards me dealing with depression, is a bit upsetting. However, yesterday has transpired and there’s no need to dwell upon what I could’ve done differently if I could time travel.

I’m fortunate that I’ve learned from my mistakes, especially when it comes to asking for assistance. I do have my moments when I falter every now and then. Life is not without struggle; it appears that once I find a solution to one problem, another appears on the horizon. That’s alright because I recognize these moments I encounter as opportunities that can contribute towards my personal growth and development. This was by no means an overnight feat. It took a lot of internal validation over the years through reading, journaling, meditation, exercise, and positive self-talk for me to arrive at this destination, but the journey was definitely worth it.

There’s so much I’ve yet to discover about myself that continues to excite and motivate me. One way I’ll be able to conceive, design, pursue, and accomplish these potential goals is through continuous interaction with my loved ones. I need to give thanks again to them for the positive impact they’ve made to add value to my life. Sometimes I wrestle with isolation due to the demands of my job as a counselor and/or my passion as a writer pursuing his creative endeavors. I’m making better efforts to reach out to people just to say hello, keep in touch, or ask for help. I am so blessed and grateful for my support system. They inspire me to be the best person I can be. In addition, their influence encourages me to give back so that I can be a blessing not only to them, but to others. In my opinion, to give and share one’s love, time, and knowledge adds value to another life creates opportunities to enhance everyone’s personal growth and development. Yes, indeed.

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

