Ready or Not

1 October 2014. It’s less than 24 hours until that date arrives. That’s the date I set for myself to launch the Facebook page and blog for my next creative project. I’ve posted enough teaser messages and #hashtags on various social networking sites for the past several weeks. I’ve shared my ideas with only a few individuals. They’re excited for me, and so am I. Yet, I’m nervous. Absolutely. Excited yet nervous. This always happens whenever I get ready to creatively express myself. It’s the same feeling I felt when I first started reciting poetry publicly 17 years ago. It’s also the same feeling I felt when I taught my creative writing course, Write Here! Write Now!, at Temple University for the first time seven years ago. I get that same feeling whenever I recite poetry, do a book signing, or promote my creativity. Tomorrow is no exception.

I have to get ready. I have no choice about it because tomorrow is 1 October 2014. I have to be ready. It’s impossible for me to predict what the future will bring, so I won’t allow negative thoughts to enter my mind with cognitive distortions like catastrophizing or jumping to conclusions. I won’t ask myself questions like “What if no one likes my Facebook page?” “Will I have enough content to promote myself on a daily basis?” or “What if I make mistakes?” That last question concerns me the most. Mistakes will probably occur since this is the first time I’m doing this, but then again, this is a work in progress. And it’s important for me to recognize that I will make mistakes in the early stages. The experience will be beneficial as long as I view them for what they truly are – learning opportunities to improve and enhance my creative vision.

Ready or not, 1 October 2014 is coming. I’m ready, excited, and nervous. Sometimes I have to chill. Yes, that’s an excellent idea. Take a moment for myself and meditate. Just imagine…slowly breathe…have faith…

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

