I Can’t…Not in My Vocabulary

“Whether you think you can, or think you can’t, you’re right.”

– Henry Ford

I’m on a mission to eliminate the word can’t from my vocabulary. I never realized how much power this single word possesses to limit a person’s potential. I can recall there were times when I was an adolescent and my mother asked me to do chores around the house. My automatic response would be saying, “I can’t do it,” due to intimidation despite the fact that I could clean up my room, take out the garbage, or mow the lawn. Intimidation and fear of doing something new can be mentally devastating to a person’s well-being. If someone believes that he or she can’t do something, then that individual can’t do it regardless if he or she speaks that word. I don’t know how many times I’ve set myself up for failure by telling myself I can’t do something like lifting heavier weights at the gym; approaching a lady that I was interested in dating; and writing a blog about this subject. If I believed I could instead of believing I couldn’t, then maybe my body would be much stronger from lifting heavier weights? Maybe I could be married to that lady right now that I was interested in dating? Maybe I would have written this blog much sooner when the idea first popped into my mind three and a half weeks ago?

“The first step is you have to say that you can.”

– Will Smith

It has been no easy feat to no longer use the word can’t anymore, but I’m making the effort. I tried my best to write this blog without using this negative word only in its title. I’m forcing myself to monitor the thoughts inside my mind before they’re translated into the words I speak. This is also applicable when I start writing inside my journal. Since I’ve accepted my mission possible (I’m also working on eliminating the word impossible from my vocabulary), I’ve rewritten so many sentences and paragraphs to reach a point where I’m able to not mention that word anymore. I feel more confident in myself and my talents. I feel less intimidated when I step outside of my comfort zone and do things that require me to become uncomfortable. Eliminating that negative word has empowered me as a person and enhanced my growth and development, especially as a writer and a thinker. I still have my work cut out for me in some aspects of my life, but I believe, think, and know I can do something instead of defeating myself by thinking and saying the complete opposite. Yes, indeed!

Take care and be blessed!

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

