Am I Ready?

I will be a successful poet, writer, author, counselor, motivational speaker, instructor, and life coach who will reap the prosperous rewards from his creative endeavors by making a positive difference in the lives of others.

That’s my mission statement. I came up with the idea of creating one for myself in the summer of 2010. It has evolved over the past year and a half as I made modifications according to changes that took place in my life (i.e., being involved in an auto accident, getting laid off from my full-time job). I wrote down my mission statement in my journal the other day when I was preparing my 2012 goals. I don’t believe in making resolutions because I’ve always been a more goal-oriented person. As I stare at my mission statement, I have mixed emotions. Sometimes I feel motivated to take on the world and accomplish my goals. Other times I feel overwhelmed by the challenge of the necessary work and effort I have to study, learn, prepare, read, or write. That happens more often than I care to think about. I have my moods when I am tired of studying and writing homework assignments. I am sick and tired of feeling inspired to write a new novel or poem, but end up wasting my time and creating nothing when the ideas don’t flow exactly the way I anticipated. I become impatient when things don’t manifest themselves fast enough for my expectations. Depression sinks in big time along with the doubts about my talents, skills, and abilities. When those negative thoughts creep into my mind, I ask myself “Are you ready, Bill? Are you really ready to make the sacrifices and do what it takes to create the life that you want for yourself?”

It does take a little effort for anyone to create a mission statement, but it takes a tremendous effort to bring those words to life. 2012 is right around the corner in four days and will I keep modifying my mission statement one year from today? Am I prepared to continue being efficient and dedicated to my academic success at graduate school? Am I prepared to have faith and patience that I will be a licensed professional counselor?  Am I prepared to bring life to my literary projects that have been collecting dust on my mind’s shelf like a second spoken word CD or the sequel to my novel One Love? Am I prepared to develop and increase recognition of my brand name Bill Holmes as an author, writer, and poet? Am I ready to live and breathe my mission statement? These are the questions I’ve been asking myself since 5 A.M. today. And the answer  is … YES, I AM!!!!

Things may not come into place according to my desires, but they’re moving right along. I have no time for depression because I’m not trying to hear that noise. Every small effort towards the pursuit of my goals brings me much closer towards fulfillment. I’ve come a long way in the past year and a half, and there’s no need to keep looking behind at the past. I’m doing well in graduate school, maintaining a 4.0 GPA. I ‘m blessed with enough talent, skill, and abilities to create new literary projects. I’m proud of my current accomplishments and excited about my future achievements. Am I ready to live and breathe my mission statement? YES I AM!!!!

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

