I Hate Being Sick

I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick. I hate being sick.

I feel like Bart Simpson writing down his latest prank on the blackboard after school at the beginning of The Simpsons. Well, this serves me right after coming down with a serious case of the flu last weekend. I should have known better than to neglect my health by not getting proper nutrition and rest. My body doesn’t function as well at 41 than it did 10 or 20 years ago. I have nobody to blame except for me. Without getting into too much detail, I allowed some personal circumstances to interfere with my well-being that made me feel depressed. When this happens, I forego things like eating right and exercising. I don’t get enough sleep because I’m up late worrying and driving myself crazy. Believe me, I am not the most pleasant person to be around when I’m in a negative mood. Unfortunately, I came down with the flu because my defenses were down. However, things have taken a positive turn now that I’m back on the healthy track. I do still have this lingering cough that probably won’t go away for another two weeks, but this too will pass.

I’m grateful I was able to get some rest and not have to do too much this week. I managed to stay on top of studying for graduate school in between naps and taking medicine. Today is the first time this week I managed to do some writing that wasn’t applicable to grad school. When I’m sick, I don’t feel like doing anything at all. No surfing the Internet, slacking off on Facebook, or even writing in my journal. I tried my best to open my journal when I was sick to keep myself feeling creative, but the desire was not there. I can’t and don’t want to write. I tried to force myself to write something last week since my last journal entry was on Saturday, 3 December 2011; however, it was nothing but random mumblings that make absolutely no sense. That’s a bad sign itself when the writer doesn’t understand his or her own work. Ouch. Did I record some ideas on my digital recorder? I don’t think so, but I can’t remember. No, I was trippin’ after checking for any new updates. I know I wanted to write a blog because it had been a while since my last entry, but I’m glad I didn’t. The focus wouldn’t have been there, and now that I’m thinking more coherent, I’m doing so as I type these words.

If nothing else, this experience has taught me the value of taking care of me. I always end my blogs and Facebook and Twitter updates with the words take care and be blessed. Now that the year 2011 is coming to an end and 2012 is on the horizon, I intend to practice what I preach. Those words have become my mantra now that I’m getting older and appreciating life a lot more. At the beginning of each calendar year, I write down all of my goals I’d like to accomplish, including physical, financial, emotional, spiritual, and personal. Some aren’t attained and carry over into the next year while others are fulfilled and crossed off my list. Some of my annual goals included reading the Bible in its entirety during the calendar year, drinking a gallon of water a day, and finish writing and editing my manuscript In the End for publication in 2012. Each goal was interlinked into my primary objective for 2011: take care of my physical, mental, and spiritual well-being on a consistent basis. Examining my 2011 goals, I did fairly well in some areas, but I fell out of the loop in others. Life threw me several curve balls and I didn’t how to adjust my swing when I stepped up to home plate. I can’t afford to let that happen again because life is too short and tomorrow is not promised. Yes, indeed. Well, I do have some free time tonight since I’m caught up-to-date with homework assignments. I’m still shaking my head that there is only three weeks left in the year and fifteen days until Christmas. Good Lord, time is moving quickly, but it’s all good. Mm hmmm!

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

 

 

 

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

