Wheels Are Spinning Part 1

I’m sitting on the enclosed back porch of my parents’ home in Virginia as I’m writing this blog. It feels very cool outside this afternoon and I may need to put on my pullover to stay warm. Glad I decided to pack it before I left New Jersey yesterday morning. I didn’t think it would rain today but it certainly looks and feels like it’s about to do so. The sky is grey and cloudy, but the sun is doing its best to shine. That looks like a fruitless battle. With the exception of birds cackling in the nearby trees, the metallic wind chimes slightly moving, and the crickets chirping in the grass, it is quiet outside. I mean absolutely peaceful and tranquil quiet. The kind of quiet that freaks out some individuals who spent their entire lives in the city coming to the country for the first time. I don’t feel like listening to music on my iPod because it would definitely ruin the moment.

Sometimes it feels so good to just get away and be alone with your thoughts. Well, I do that quite often since I’m a writer, but I mean just getting away from my familiar surroundings. I was feeling a bit stagnant at home as I tried to come up with something creative and inspiring that moves me to write. I think I’m about to get there this weekend while I’m visiting my parents. I’m not thinking about work, bills, or graduate school (okay, at least until I start my homework assignments tonight). I don’t know what or how much writing I’ll do this weekend in between homework assignments, but it doesn’t matter. I’ll write something, and that’s a good thing! Sometimes my best ideas emerge when I’m relaxed. All I need to do is sit back and enjoy the ride.

It looks like the storm is about to come. I can hear a few raindrops splattering on the wooden porch roof and patio deck. Maybe I can write about the rain. Hhmmm, that’s not a bad idea. Nothing corny or silly because I can go there. Or maybe a storm on the horizon? That could be a perfect metaphor for a character facing a life-changing dilemma. The wheels are definitely spinning and I’ll revisit this topic in my next blog to let you know my progress. Stay tuned.

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

