I Feel Fantastic

I don’t know why I’m feeling sleepy all of a sudden since it’s not even 9 pm on a Sunday evening. I think all the lack of adequate rest is catching up with my body and it’s time for me to take it easy. I did have a busy and productive weekend as I finished completing and posting online my homework assignment for my Introduction to Mental Health class. My legs are sore from doing Bikram’s yoga on Friday evening and exercising yesterday afternoon at the gym, but they’re not in excruciating pain. Right about now, I’m ready to call it an early night since I have to report for jury duty tomorrow morning. Besides, I’ve been staying up pretty late these past few weeks and I need my rest.

 Usually I’m the type of person who’s prone to getting sick during the winter, but not this season. I have to say I’m proud of the way I’ve taken better care of my health this year. I’ve been consistent with exercising at the gym 3 times a week. I stop eating beef and pork on December 1, 2010 and haven’t missed the taste, although I’ll have a craving flashback every time I drive by a steakhouse restaurant. I increased my intake of fruits and vegetables and drinking plenty of water during this season. I’m participating in yoga and noticing a gradual increase in my endurance and flexibility. I started reading the Bible every day for an annual period on January 1. I’m praying and meditating more so that I maintain more spiritual balance in my life. I do need to work on getting at least 8 hours sleep per night, but I’ll get there in due time. I wish I could do some long distance running, but my body is physically no longer able to do so since having reconstructive knee surgery almost 10 years ago. Sigh, but it’s all good. I haven’t felt sick since I returned from Florida last November after visiting my brother Mike and his family. For the first time in a very long time from a healthy perspective, I FEEL FANTASTIC!!!!! 

It’s so easy for people to get caught up in the rat race of life and neglect their well being. I’d see some individuals riding the NJ Patco Speed Line on their way to work looking like corporate zombies, myself included as I stared at my faint reflection in the train’s window. That was one of my biggest fears as I started feeling depressed, restless, and depleted traveling back and forth to an unfulfilling job. The stress took its toll as I experienced panic attacks, abandoned exercising and eating healthy, and suffered bouts of insomnia until my body broke down last year with a serious bout of bronchitis. I forgot to take care of me through exercise, nutrition, and prayer. I vowed I would never do so again this year as I incorporated wellness into my annual goals. Speaking of goals, I need to revisit mine to see how I’m doing with progress, but that’s another blog for another time. At this stage of my life, it’s all about happiness and using my God given talents as a means to give Him glory and to make a positive difference in another person’s life. I also need to remind myself that I need to take care of Bill first before I can do for others.

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

