A Beautiful Thing

It’s almost 1 am (that’s what time it was when I started writing this blog) and I’m tired. No, I’m exhausted since I had less than 6 hours sleep last night and I should be asleep. I tried closing my eyes so I could fall asleep, but I couldn’t. Too many ideas were bouncing around inside my mind for new poems and I had no choice to wake up or lose them. I could have turned on my digital recorder and recorded my thoughts, but this was one of those moments when too much adrenaline was flowing and wouldn’t allow me to rest. I know my body will pay the price later this afternoon around 2 pm, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Do I expect to create groundbreaking masterpieces of literature to ignite the world as I’m bobbing my head back and forth listening to encouraging songs like the Alan Parsons Project “Sirius,” Eminem’s “Lose Yourself,” K’Jon’s “On The Ocean,” and Mos Def’s “Brown Sugar?” Maybe I will or maybe I won’t, but that doesn’t matter; I’m in my creative zone and that is a beautiful thing.

I’ve always admired and respected disciplined athletes who dedicate and sacrifice their time to train for competitions, especially runners participating in long distance marathons. They are inspirational and amazing. I’m a firm believer that writers should exercise that same discipline and commitment to their craft. I know some people who have the desire to write (and I won’t start name calling), but they won’t make the necessary sacrifices to accomplish their goals.

I’ve had my procrastinating moments when I didn’t feel like writing because I thought what I wrote was crap or wasn’t in the mood to do so. I’ve had my frustrating moments when I couldn’t remember an idea or struggled with the way I wanted to convey my thoughts. I’ve had my humbling moments when I had to go back and make constant revisions based on feedback and comments I received from an editor. Regardless of the many circumstances I encountered or excuses I could imagine, I kept writing because it was necessary to do so. Anything that a person desires to achieve in life can only be attained through dedication, perseverance, and diligence. There are no easy shortcuts if you truly want to be successful in pursuing your passion.

This inspirational quote from Eric Jerome Dickey in his novel Between Lovers sums it all up:

“I don’t have the answers, not yet, but I do know this is certain; loving, running, and writing have one thing in common. The one who wins at any one of those is the one who does it on the days he doesn’t feel like doing it. The one who does it when it’s hard. The one who sweats through the difficult times and endures the pain: Those are the people who succeed.”

Yes, indeed!

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

