Letter to God – 27 January 2011

The following is a letter that I wrote almost two weeks ago seeking God’s divine intervention to restore my confidence to pursue my creative endeavors through my writing. Ironically, I received an email from one of my former creative writing students who was struggling to regain her confidence and self doubts about her writing. I shared this letter with her and offered some encouraging words to overcome her fears. She thanked me for sharing my thoughts with her as she felt rejuvenated and inspired to write again.

Hope you enjoy.

Take care and be blessed.

Bill

27 January 2011

Dear God,

Thank You for allowing me to witness the beginning of a new day. Thank You for loving me and being so good to me in spite of myself.

As I’m lying here and sharing my thoughts with you, Lord, I’m meditating on the biblical verses I read yesterday in Exodus 14 and 15 and Matthew 25. You certainly have a way to getting my attention because Your words spoke to my spirit. Correction, Your words spoke to my spirit yesterday. I will confess that I’ve been living in fear about accomplishing my goals. There was a part of me that wished I was back working at my former employer, but I would have been unhappy and miserable. I felt afraid like the Israelites when they saw Pharaoh’s army approaching them after you freed them from bondage. It’s so easy for us human beings to slip back into a slave mentality after You have delivered us from our tribulations after facing adversity in the wilderness.

I would like to ask You, God, to please forgive me for my shortsightedness. I should have exercised more faith in You, my Savior, because You are so awesome. I need to act historical and not act hysterical by recognizing all that You’ve done for me to overcome my trials and tribulations.

I give You thanks and praise, God, for all of these blessings You have bestowed upon me. You have given me a powerful gift to touch another person’s life through my creativity. Sometimes I take this for granted by withholding my talent due to fear and insecurity. I wind up cursing my blessings in the long run and that is not a good thing. No, because You didn’t place me on this planet to live in mediocrity and fear. Please guide, shape, and mold me so that I may use my creativity to accomplish Your works and to be a blessing to somebody.

In Jesus’ precious name I pray for thanksgiving. Amen.

Love,

Bill Holmes

About Bill's Universal Expressions!

Poet, writer, therapist, and ESSENCE Best Selling and future New York Times Best Selling author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letter to God – 27 January 2011

  1. Dena williama says:

    I liked it it was encouraging me to strengthen my own relations with God and made me remember to get off my backside to work on my own blog and writings

  2. Lorraine says:

    Bill, thank you so much for addressing “fear” and for reminding us that in not using our God-given gifts, we are wasting what God has instilled in each one of us.

  3. ahmin says:

    Exactly what i was thinking in terms of my situations, thanks Bill for putting my toughts into words… this is very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

